سرطان البروستات

سرطان البروستاتا هو ثاني انواع السرطان الاكثر شيوعا لدى الرجال بعد سرطان الجلد و يحتل المرتبة الثانية بين وفيات السرطان. يمكن تشخيص سرطان البروستات بشكل مبكر بواسطة اجراء فحص ال PSA (مستضد البروستات الخاص). اذ أظهرت معدلات وفيات سرطان البروستاتا انخفاضا منذ بداية تطبيق اجراء فحص ال PSA بشكل دوري. و ما زالت هناك فحوصات و اختبارات مكثفة تجرى لتطوير تشخيص وعلاج سرطان البروستات.

عرض شامل

تحيط غدة البروستاتا بالاحليل أسفل المثانة وتلعب افرازاتها دورا مهما في الحفاظ على لزوجة السائل المنوي. تتألف البروستاتا من خلايا افرازية وأنسجة ضامة طرفية تحيط بها، و يحدث سرطان البروستاتا نتيجة لتطورغير طبيعي لتلك الخلايا الافرازية. اذا لم يتم تشخيص سرطان البروستاتا في مرحلة مبكرة فانه ينتشر إلى الأنسجة الطرفية عن طريق اللمف والأوعية الدموية. مواقع الانبثاث (الانتشار) الأكثر شيوعا هي الغدد اللمفاوية والعظام، بالاضافة الى ذلك ، فإنه قد ينتشر إلى الرئتين والكبد وأجهزة الجسم الأخرى ايضا.

الأسباب وعوامل الاختطار

يقدر أن يكون سرطان البروستاتا موجودا على المستوى المجهري لدى 50 ٪ من الرجال فوق سن السبعين سنة ولدى جميع الرجال تقريبا فوق التسعين سنة من العمر. و تقارب نسبة اصابة الرجل السليم بسرطان البروستاتا في حياته حوالى 17 ٪، وبعبارة أخرى ، فان كل رجل واحد من أصل 6 قد من يعاني سرطان البروستاتا. مع بداية ظهور اختبار PSA في بدايات الثمانينات وبداية ممارساته السريرية انخفضت معدلات وفيات المرض. في الولايات المتحدة وحدها يتم اكتشاف سرطان البروستاتا لدى 250.000 رجل سنويا و 95 ٪ من هؤلاء هم فوق سن 45.

مخاطر الاصابة

لا يعرف السبب الدفين وراء سرطان البروستاتا، ومثل غيره من أنواع السرطان يعتقد ان الاستعداد الوراثي والعوامل البيئية السلبية لها دور كبير في تطور المرض. العديد من عوامل الاختطار التي يعتقد أن يكون لها دور محتمل في تطور سرطان البروستاتا هي كما يلي:

  • العمر
  • وجود سرطان البروستاتا في تاريخ العائلة
  • الاغذية الدسمة
  • الهرمونات
  • الكادميوم
  • فايتامين A & D

عوامل الخطورة الرئيسية هي العمر والتاريخ العائلي. فبينما يوصى بإجراء تحليل سرطان البروستاتا بصورة روتينية للرجال فوق سن الخمسن سنة ، لكن إذا كان الشخص لديه تاريخ عائلي للإصابة بسرطان البروستاتا ، فأن الاختبارات يجب ان تبدأ بعد سن الاربعين. ويعتقد أن 10 ٪ من جميع سرطانات البروستات تكون موروثة من الأب الى الابن، و يكون خطر الاصابة بسرطان البروستاتا بين الاشخاص الذين لهم أب أو أخ يعاني من سرطان البروستاتا ، اعلى ب 2-9 مرات من غيرهم. من المميزات الاخرى لسرطان البروستاتا هو أن المرض قد يتجلى بشكلين مختلفين تماما : الشكل الكامن النمو و الشكل النشط سريريا، في حين أن المرض قد يبقى كامنا طوال حياة المريض في المجموعة الأولى ، فانه قد ينتشر إلى الأنسجة الأخرى ويظهر مرحلة متقدمة من النمو في المجموعة الثانية.

الوقاية من سرطان البروستاتا

بما انه لم يتم لحد الان توضيح سبب سرطان البروستاتا بشكل مؤكد ،فانه من غير الممكن منع تطور المرض في كثير من الحالات. ومع ذلك ، فإن الدراسات الحديثة تشير إلى أنه من خلال احداث تغيير في النظام الغذائي ونمط الحياة ، يمكن خفض خطر الاصابة بسرطان البروستات.

التغذية

تحتوي الطماطم على مستوى عال من الليكوبين (lycopene). و تشير العديد من الدراسات الى ان تناول الليكوبين يقلل من خطر الاصابة بسرطان البروستات بنسبة 15 ٪ ، في حين أن دراسات أخرى تشير إلى أن استهلاك الطماطم قد يقلل من مخاطر الاصابة بالسرطان بنسبة 26 ٪.

يحتوي فول الصويا على الفايتواستروجين (phytoestrogen)الذي هو عبارة عن مادة مشابهة لهرمون الاستروجين في الجسم. ومن المعروف ان فول الصويا يخفض مستويات PSA و تظهر المجتمعات التي لديها معدل استهلاك مرتفع لفول الصويا ، انخفاضا في معدلات الاصابة بسرطان البروستاتا.

زيت السمك غني بالاحماض الدهنية اوميغا-3 , ومن المعروف أن الأحماض الدهنية أوميغا-3 لها تأثير وقائي ضد أمراض القلب والسرطان. تحتوي أسماك البحار الباردة مثل السلمون والتونة على اعلى كمية من الأحماض الدهنية أوميغا-3.

الفيتامينات والمعادن : على الرغم من ادعاء العديد من الدراسات أن الاستهلاك المنتظم ل 50 ملغم من فيتامين E يقلل من خطر الاصابة بسرطان البروستاتا ، فان هنالك دراسات اخرى تخالف هذه النظرية. و يذكر ان السيلينيوم ، وهو معدن يحد ايضا من خطر الاصابة بسرطان البروستاتا.

حاليا يتم البحث في تأثيركل من السيلينيوم وفيتامين E على سرطان البروستاتا من خلال دراسة SELECT (تجربة استخدام السيلينيوم وفيتامين E للوقاية من السرطان). والتي شملت ما يقرب من 35.000 شخص و من المنتظر ان تعلن نتائج هذه الدراسة في السنوات المقبلة.

يحتوي الفطر على السيلينيوم الذي يمنع نمو الورم ويقلل من مستوى PSA

الاغذية الغنية بالخضروات الفواكه تزيد من إنتاج فيتامين (د) المعروف بتأثيره في الحد من خطر الاصابة بسرطان البروستاتا. و من المعروف أن القرنبيط والبروكولي تقلل من خطر الاصابة بسرطان البروستاتا.

الشاي الأخضر غني بمادة البوليفينول. حيث يعتقد أن هذه المادة تبطيء نمو الخلايا السرطانية. علاوة على ذلك يذكر أن الشاي الأخضر يقلل من مادة البوليامين(polyamine) التي تزيد من عدوانية الخلايا السرطانية.

الرياضة

ممارسة التمارين الرياضية بانتظام يؤدي إلى فقدان الوزن ويقلل من خطر الاصابة بسرطان البروستاتا. وقد أظهرت الدراسات أن الرياضة تخفض مستويات هرمون التستوستيرون ومستويات PSA.

المعالجة الدوائية

لقد أجريت دراسات عديدة على الكثير من الادوية لاستخدامها في منع تطور سرطان البروستاتا. دراسة PCPT (تجربة الوقاية من سرطان البروستات) هي الأكثر شهرة بين تلك الدراسات، والتى تم اجراؤها على ما يقرب من 18.000 شخص حيث تم اعطاء نصفهم دواء الفيناسترايد (يمنع تحول التستوستيرون إلى جزيئه الاكثر فعالية الديهدروتستوسترون) بينما لم يتم اعطاء المجموعة الاخرى اي دواء. في نهاية الدراسة اظهرت النتائج ان حدوث سرطان البروستاتا لدى المرضى الذين تناولوا الفيناستريد كان اقل بنسبة 25 ٪ من مجموعة الدواء الوهمي. ومع ذلك ، فقد تم اكتشاف أنواع أكثر عدوانية من سرطان البروستاتا في مجموعة الفيناستريد. ولم يتم التعرف على اسباب هذه النتيجة ولا تزال خاضعة للمناقشة. ولذلك ، لا يفضل استخدام الفيناستريد للوقاية من سرطان البروستاتا من قبل معظم الأطباء.

هنالك دراسة أخرى تجري حاليا وهي REDUCE (تقليل نسبة الاصابة بسرطان البروستاتا باستخدام دواء الدوتاستيرايد)، اذ يتم اعطاء دواء الدوتاستيرايد Dutaseride (و هو عقار من نفس مجموعة فيناستريد و يمنع تحول التستوستيرون إلى ديهدروتستوسترون) للمرضى من أجل منع تطور سرطان البروستاتا و لم يتم اعلان نتائج هذه الدراسة بعد.

الاشياء التي يجب تجنبها

الأطعمة
نسبة حدوث سرطان البروستاتا تكون الأعلى لدى الأشخاص الذين يتناولون الأطعمة التي تحتوي على نسب عالية من الدهون واللحوم الحمراء. كذلك فان الإفراط في تناول الكالسيوم يقلل من تكوين فيتامين (د) والذي يعرف بتأثيره الوقائي ضد سرطان البروستاتا.

البدانة
البدناء ( أو بعبارة أخرى الاشخاص الذين يمتلكون منسب كتلة الجسم BMI أعلى من 32.5) يعانون من مرض سرطان البروستاتا بشكل أكثر عدوانية. البروتينات مثل اللبتين والهرمونات مثل عامل النمو تسهم في تطور سرطان البروستاتا لدى المرضى الذين يعانون من السمنة المفرطة.

الكولسترول
تظهر الدراسات وجود علاقة بين ارتفاع مستويات الكولسترول وسرطان البروستاتا. يسبب البروتين الدهني منخفض الكثافة (LDL) والذي يعرف باسم الكولسترول السيئ بين الناس ،ارتفاعا في مستويات الديهدروتستوسترون و خطورة الاصابة بسرطان البروستاتا بشكل سريع و بمسار اكثر عدوانية.

من المعروف ان التدخين يزيد من نمو خلايا سرطان البروستاتا.

أعراض سرطان البروستاتا

قد يتطور سرطان البروستاتل الموضعي من دون ظهور أي علامات تحذيرية.

قبل ظهور فحص PSA ، كان تشخيص سرطان البروستاتا يتم فقط من خلال اكتشاف حدوث تضخم في حجم العقد الصلبة على غدة البروستات اثناء اجراء الفحص الاصبعي للشرج أو نتيجة للتحليل الباثولوجي للأنسجة التي تم إزالتها من المرضى خلال العمليات التي كانت تجرى لتضخم البروستاتا الحميد.

قد يسبب سرطان البروستاتا الألم خاصة عندما ينتشر الى العظام. و في حالات الانتشار الشديد الى العظام ، يمكن ملاحظة حدوث فقر الدم والضعف الناتج بسبب خلل في تكوين الدم. في الحالات المتقدمة ، فأن الغدد الليمفاوية قد تأخذ حجما اكبر مما يؤدي إلى حدوث انسداد في الجهاز البولي والذي قد ينتج منه توسع في حوض الكلية.

Değerlendirme

في المراحل المتقدمة من سرطان البروستاتا ، قد يؤدي تضخم البروستاتا الى عرقلة مجرى البول مع صعوبة في التبول و ظهور اعراض تهيج المثانة. في هذه المرحلة ، قد تكون هناك حاجة إلى اجراءعملية جراحية من أجل تمكين تدفق البول.

التشخيص
يتم تشخيص سرطان البروستاتا من خلال الكشف عن زيادة في نسبة هرمون PSA في الدم و ذلك اثناء تطبيق برامج الفحص الدوري. في حالات نادرة قد يؤدي الى ظهور اعراض مثل صعوبة التبول و كثرة التبول و التي غالبا ما تكون نتيجة لتضخم البروستاتا الحميد الذي يحدث مع التقدم في العمر. اثناء الفحص الاصبعي للشرج اذا ما تم الاحساس بوجود صلابة في البروستاتا يجب اخذ خزعة للفحص النسيجي.

أ‌- الفحص الاصبعي للشرج:

فحص المستقيم هو واحد من أهم أجزاء الفحص البدني للمريض. اثناء الفحص يحاول الطبيب اكتشاف وجود اي صلابة أو بنية غير منتظمة على السطح الخارجي للبروستاتا و التي قد تكون مؤشرا لوجود السرطان. يجب أن نضع في اعتبارنا أنه يتم تشخيص 25 ٪ من مرضى سرطان البروستاتا من خلال اكتشاف صلابة أو بنية غير منتظمة على سطح البروستاتا اثناء الفحص الاصبعي على الرغم من كون مستويات PSA ضمن المعدل الطبيعي.

ب‌- مستضد البروستاتا الخاص PSA

ال PSA هو بروتين يتم افرازه من قبل البروستاتا والغدد المحيطة بالإحليل. و هو يساعد على رفع لزوجة السائل المنوي قبل القذف. يوجد PSA في الدم على شكلين: الجزء المرتبط بالبروتين والجزء الحر. ال PSA الحر هو وسيلة قياس حديثة نسبيا تهدف إلى تسهيل تشخيص سرطان البروستاتا. بينما يعتبر مستوى PSA بين الصفر و الاربعة هو الحد الطبيعي ،و لكن نتيجة لاكتشاف العديد من حالات السرطان في هذا النطاق ، فقد تم تخفيض حد السلامة حاليا ولا سيما بالنسبة للمرضى الشباب.

تكون مستويات PSA حسب الفئات العمرية كالتالي:
العمر من 40 الى 49 سنة PSA ≤2.0 ng/ml
العمر من 50 الى 60 سنة PSA ≤2.5 ng/ml
العمر من 60_69 PSA ≤4.0 ng/ml
العمر من 70 و اكثر PSA ≤5.5 ng/ml

في حين أن معدل اكتشاف الإصابة بالسرطان يرتفع مع استخدام مستوى PSA المرتبط بالعمر ، فإن نسبة اخذ الخزعات النسيجية الغير ضرورية من المرضى المسنين تنخفض. هناك بعض القيم الأخرى لل PSA والتي تزيد من الاشتباه بالسرطان:

  • معدل PSA: عند حدوث أية زيادة في PSA بمعدل أكثر من 0.75نانوغرام / مل سنويا يتعين اخذ خزعة.
  • كثافة PSA (PSAD): هو النسبة بين قيمة PSA لحجم البروستاتا. وينبغي اخذ خزعة في الحالاتالتي تكون فيها PSAD ≥ 0.15.

ت‌- اخذ خزعة من البرستاتا عن طريق الشرج

يتم اخذ خزعة من البروستاتا عن طريق الشرج تحت استرشاد من جهاز الفحص بالموجات الفوق الصوتية عن طريق الشرج (TRUS) . اثناء هذه العملية يتم اخذ خزع من مناطق محددة مسبقا في البروستاتا، اخذين بالاعتبار سن المريض ، حجم البروستاتا ، ووجود عملية سابقة لاخذ الخزعة.

باثولوجية سرطان البروستات: التشخيصات المحتمل اكتشافها من الخزعة

1. التهاب البروستاتا

يتم اكتشاف التهاب البروستاتا في معظم الخزعات التي لم يظهر فها سرطان. و خصوصا لدى المرضى المسنين يتم ملاحظة هذه الحالة في كثير من الأحيان ، ولأنها لا تؤدي إلى حدوث اي عدوى نشطة فأنه لا حاجة لاي علاج.

2. التكون الورمي داخل الظهارة للبروستاتا Prostatic Intra-epithelial Neoplasia (PIN)

و يوجد نوعان منها : عالية الدرجة و منخفضة الدرجة. يمتلك النوع العالي الدرجة أهمية سريرية. اذ يتراوح معدل الكشف عن سرطان البروستاتا عند اعادة اخذ الخزعة لدى المرضى الذين يظهرون PIN عالية الدرجة في العملية الاولى ما بين 30-50 ٪.

3. Atypical Small Aciner Proliferation (ASAP)

4. سرطان البروستاتا الغدي Prostate Adenocancer

غالبية انواع سرطان البروستاتا هي من النوع الغدي Adenocancer . اثناء اجراء الفحص النسيجي ما بعد الوفاة يتم اكتشاف الانسجة السرطانية في غدة البروستاتا لدى 50% من الرجال على الرغم من ان معظمهم يكونون قد توفوا لاسباب اخرى بينما يكون المرض ما زال في مرحلة مبكرة. و لكن مع ازدياد معدل العمر فان مرض سرطان البروستاتا لا يزال يشكل خطرا لفئة عمرية متزايدة.

عندما يتم اكتشاف سرطان البروستات في خزعة البروستاتا يتم تقسيم المرض الى درجات وفقا لعدوانيته. نظام غليسون هو التصنيف الأكثر استخداما، اذ يتم تصنيف العينات الى درجات بين 1-5 (1 تكون الأفضل و5 هي الاسوء ) استنادا إلى درجة التشوه في الأنسجة والخلايا المستحدثة من خلايا السرطان ، ويتم تحليل المواد السرطانية بأكملها ويتم تقييم الكثافة الخلوية. بعده يتم جمع الحرز من المجموعات التي تظهر اعلى كثافة لتشكيل حرز غليسون. استنادا إلى تلك الدرجات ، يتم تقييم حالة الورم داخل البروستاتا مما يمكن من اختيار العلاج الأنسب للمرض.

5. انواع اخرى من سرطان البروستاتا

الانواع الاخرى من سرطان البروستاتا عدا النوع الغدي غير شائعة. وهي تكون اكثر عدوانية مع احتماليات تجاة اسوأ بالنسبة للمريض من سرطان البروستاتا الغدي (Adenocarcinoma).

درجات الورم السرطاني

الدرجة الاولى: عنما يكون الورم متموضعا داخل انسجة البروستاتا او في الاجزاء الداخلية لغدة البروستاتا. ولذلك ، فإنه لا يمكن الكشف عنه بواسطة الفحص الاصبعي الشرجي. يتم تشخيص هذه الحالة اما بأخذ خزعة من البروستاتا نتيجة لارتفاع مستوى PSA أو أثناء اجراء عملية قص انسجة البروستاتا بواسطة الناظور (TURP) للتخفيف من انسداد المسالك البولية.

الدرجة الثانية: يظهر الورم تضخما بحيث يكون لمسه ممكنا بالاصبع اثناء الفحص الشرجي ولكنه لا يزال متموضعا داخل غدة البروستاتا مع عدم وجود دل الة على انتشاره خارجها

الدرجة الثالثة: ينتشر الورم خارج حدود غدة البروستاتا و يصل الى الحويصلة المنوية.

الدرجة الرابعة: مرحلة الانبثاث او الانتشار. ينتشر الورم الي الانسجة المحيطة او الى الاعضاء البعيدة مثل العظام, الرئتين و الكبد.

علاجات سرطان البروستات

  1. علاج سرطان البروستاتا الموضعي
    • المتابعة
    • العلاج الجراحي : الاستئصال الجذري للبروستاتا
      • الاستئصال الجذري بواسطة عملية فتح البطن.
      • الاستئصال الجذري بواسطة المنظار البطني.
      • الاستئصال الجذري بمساعدة الروبوت.
    • المعالجة الاشعاعية Radiotherapy
      • المعالجة الاشعاعية الخارجية
        • IMRT
        • Brachytherapy
    • المعالجة بالتبريد Cryotherapy
    • HIFU (High-Intensity Focused Ultrasound)
  2. علاج سرطان البروستاتا المنتشر
    • العلاج الهرموني Hormonal therapy
    • العلاج الكيميائيChemotherapy

PROSTATE CANCER

Prostate cancer is the second most common cancer type in men after skin cancer. It holds the 2nd place among cancer-related mortalities. PSA (prostate specific antigen) test enables early diagnosis of prostate cancer. Since the beginning of the application of PSA test, prostate cancer mortality rates has shown a drop. Intensive investigations on diagnosis and treatment of prostate cancer are still carried out.

Overall View

Prostate is a gland, which surrounds the urethra just below the bladder and plays a role in semen viscosity. It is comprised of secretive cells and their peripheral connective tissues. Prostate cancer occurs as a result of the abnormal development of those secretive cells. If not diagnosed at early stage, prostate cancer spreads to the peripheral tissues by lymph and blood vessels. The most common metastasis sites are known to be lymph nodes and bones. Moreover, it may spread to the lung, liver, and other organs as well.

Causes and Risk Factors

Prostate cancer is estimated to be present in 50% of men above the age of 70 and in almost all men above 90 of age at a microscopic level. The prostate cancer risk for a healthy man during his lifetime is approximately 17%. In other words, every one man out of 6, experiences prostate cancer. By the advent of PSA test in 1980s and the beginning of its clinical practice, mortality rates of the diseases have decreased. In the USA, prostate cancer is determined in 250.000 men each year and 95% of those people are above 45 age.

Risk Factors

The underlying cause of the prostate cancer is not known. Similar to other cancer types, genetic predisposition and negative environmental factors are believed to have a role over the development of the diseases. Several risk factors which are thought to have a possible role in development of prostate cancer are as follows:

  • Age
  • Presence of prostate cancer in the family history
  • Fatty diets
  • Hormones
  • Cadmium
  • A and D vitamins

Major risk factors are age and family history. While inclusion of prostate cancer analysis is recommended for men above 50 of age, if one has a family history of prostate cancer, the tests are started after 40 age. 10% of all prostate cancers are thought to be inherited from father to son. The risk for prostate cancer among people whose father or brother has prostate cancer, is 2-9 times higher than others. Another characteristic of prostate cancer is that the disease may present with 2 totally different forms: latent form and clinically active form. While the disease may stay latent all along one's life in the first group, it may spread to other tissues and display a late stage development in the second group.

Prevention of Prostate Cancer

Because the cause of prostate cancer has not yet been explained completely, currently, it is not possible to prevent disease development in many cases. However, recent studies indicate that by changing the diet and life style, prostate cancer risk can be reduced.

Diet

Tomato contains high level of lycopene. Several studies suggest that lycopene intake reduces the risk of prostate cancer by 15%, whereas other studies indicate that tomato consumption decreases the cancer risk by 26%.

Soya bean contains phytoestrogen which is a substance similar to the estrogen in our body. Soya bean is known to reduce the PSA levels and communities which have a high soya bean consumption rate, show low prostate cancer rates.

Fish oil is rich of omega-3 fatty acid. Omega-3 fatty acids are known to have a protective effect against heart diseases and cancer. Cold sea fishes such as salmon and tuna fish contain the highest amount of omega-3 fatty acids.

Vitamin and mineral supplements: While several studies claim that regular consumption of 50mg E vitamin reduces the risk of prostate cancer, there are also studies contrary to this claim. Selenium, a mineral, is mentioned to reduce the risk of prostate cancer, as well.

SELECT study: The effects of selenium and E vitamin over prostate cancer are investigated by SELECT study (Selenium and Vitamin E Cancer Prevention Trial). Approximately 35.000 people have been included in this study and the results are about to be declared in the upcoming years.

Mushrooms contain selenium which inhibits tumoral growth and reduces PSA level.

Vegetable- and fruit-rich diet Fruits increase the production of D vitamin that is known to reduce the risk of prostate cancer. Broccoli and brussels sprout are known to decrease the prostate cancer risk.

Green tea is rich of polyphenols. This substance is claimed to slow down the growth of cancer cells. Moreover, green tea is said to reduce the amount of polyamine substance which increases the aggression of the cancer cells.

Sports

Regular exercise leads to weight loss and reduces the prostate cancer risk. Studies have shown that exercise decreased the testosterone levels and PSA levels.

Medical Treatments

Several studies have been conducted in order to prevent development of prostate cancer. PCPT (Prostate Cancer Prevention Trial) is the most known among those studies. It has been performed on approximately 18.000 patients and while half of the patients have not been delivered a treatment (placebo group), the other half (treatment group) has been treated with Finasteride (proscarTM) roughly for 7 years. Finasteride blocks the 5-alpha reductase type II enzyme which converts testosterone to dihydrotestosterone. Thus, it is aimed to prevent reduction in dihydrotestosterone level and development of prostate cancer. At the end of the study, prostate cancer incidence among patients who had undergone Finasteride has been found to be 25% less than the placebo group. However, more aggressive prostate cancer types have been determined in the Finasteride group. The reason behind this result is not yet known and remains subject to discussion. Therefore, Finasteride treatment is not preferred by all the physicians and not regularly performed. The long-term results of the PCPT study is yet to be declared.

HAnother ongoing study is REDUCE (Reduction by Dutasteride of Prostate Cancer Events). Dutaseride is delivered to patients in order to prevent prostate cancer development. Dutaseride (Avodart™) is a drug from Finasteride group that inhibits 5-alpha reductase enyzme and converts testosterone to dihydrotestosterone. However, when compared with the Finasteride, Dutaseride blocks both types (Type I and II) of 5-alpha reductase enzymes. The results of the study are yet to be declared.

Things to Avoid

Foods
Prostate cancer incidence is higher in people who consume foods which contain high fat rate and red meat. Excessive intake of calcium reduces D vitamin synthesis which is known to have a preventive effect against prostate cancer.

Obesity
Obese people or in other words people who display a BMI higher than 32.5, suffer more aggressive prostate cancer disease. Proteins like Leptin and hormones such as growth factor contribute to the development of prostate cancer in obese patients.

Cholesterol
Studies show a relationship between high cholesterol levels and prostate cancer. LDL (low-density lipoprotein) which is known as bad cholesterol among people, causes elevation in dihydrotestosterone levels and more aggressive and rapid course of prostate cancer. Moreover, accumulation of cholesterol within the cell, particularly in the prostate cells, may lead to formation of signals that result in advance of cancer cells.

Smoking is known to increase growth of prostate cancer cells.

Symptoms

Localized prostate cancer may develop without any warning signs. Before the advent of PSA, prostate cancer could have been diagnosed only by feeling a considerable size of nodule during the digital examination or as a result of the pathologic analysis of the tissues removed from the patients that were operated for benign prostatic hyperplasia.

Prostate cancer may cause pain particularly when spreads to the bone. In cases with diffuse bone involvement, anemia and resultant weakness can be observed because of disruptions in blood synthesis. In far more advanced cases, lymph nodes may get larger and lead to obstruction in the urinary system which could result in hydronephrosis in kidneys.

At the local advanced stage of prostate cancer, prostate may exhibit excess enlargement and obstruct urinary tract. By compressing bladder, it may inflict pain and irritation in the bladder. At this stage, operation may be needed in order to relieve the urinary flow.

Evaluation

Ureteroscopes are devices with 2.5-3 mm diameter which are consisted of a tube, light source, and a lense system. Rigid ureteroscopes are advanced through bladder and urethra is reached. Particularly the stones in the lower ureter close to the bladder are treated by Holmium laser.

Diagnosis
Prostate cancer is diagnosed by detection of an increase in PSA blood test applied during the normal check-up programs. Rarely, it may become symptomatic at early ages. Symptoms such as difficulty in voiding, decrease in flow rate, and frequent urination mostly occur due to age-dependent benign prostatic hyperplasia. Because the actual enlargement site of the prostate cancer is the peripheral zone (the portions close to the exterior capsule of the prostate), it causes such obstructions and difficulty only during the advanced ages. A firmness felt during rectal examination should require a biopsy.

A. Digital rectal examination:

Rectal examination is one of the most important parts of physical examination in urology. During the examination, the urologist controls whether there is a firm or irregular structure on the outer surface of the prostate or not. You should bear in mind that 25% of patients are diagnosed as prostate cancer by only detection of firmness or an irregular structure during digital examination while observing PSA levels within normal range.

B. Prostate Spesific Antigen (PSA):

PSA is a protein which is released from prostate and the glands surrounding urethra. It helps to elevate viscosity of the semen prior to ejaculation. PSA is found in 2 forms in the blood: protein-bound and free. Free PSA measurement is a recent method that aims to facilitate diagnosing prostate cancer. While 0-4 range is recognized as normal for PSA, due to recent determination of many cancer patients in this range, the safety limit has been lowered particularly for young patients.

Age spesific serum PSA levels
40-49 of age PSA ≤2.0 ng/ml
50-59 of age PSA ≤2.5 ng/ml
60-69 of age PSA ≤4.0 ng/ml
70 of of age and older PSA ≤5.5 ng/ml

While the cancer incidence elevates with age-related PSA use, the rate of unnecessary biopsy among elderly patients decreases. There are some other PSA values which arise tumor suspicion:

  • PSA rate: Any yearly PSA increase rate over 0.75 ng/ml should indicate biopsy.
  • PSA density: It is the ratio of the PSA value to prostate volume. Biopsy should be considered in cases demonstrating PSAD ≥ 0.15.

C. Biopsy Guided by Trans-Rectal Ultrasound (TRUS):

Prostate biopsy is performed by TRUS. TRUS is an ultrasound device which is applied via rectal route. It is more useful than classic abdominal USG because it visualizes a very close-up view of prostate. Sometimes it can be applied only to visualize the prostate better without performing biopsy. As a result of a piece added to the trans rectal USG, sample tissues can be obtained from a predetermined specific site. Biopsy is performed by considering the age of the patient, size of the prostate, and presence of an earlier biopsy experience.

Prostate Cancer Pathology: Possible Diagnoses

1. Prostatitis

Prostatitis is reported in most of the biopsies which reveal no cancer. Particularly among elderly people this condition is frequently observed and because it does not lead to an active infection, no treatment is required.

2. Prostatic Intra-epithelial Neoplasia (PIN)

It has two types: high-grade and low-grade High-grade type bears clinical importance. While the structure of the prostate ducts are histopathologically normal, atypical cells surround the ducts. The rate of prostate cancer detection in repeat biopsies of patients who displayed high-grade PIN in their biopsies, is 30-50%.

3. Atypical Small Aciner Proliferation (ASAP)

4. Prostate Adenocancer

Almost all of the prostate cancers are of adenocancer type. In 50% of the autopsy series, the presence of prostate cancer has been detected histologically. However, most of the patients have been lost due to other reasons while the disease was at an insignificant stage. Even so, by the prolongation of the average human lifespan, prostate cancer continues to be a threat for an ever-increasing number of people.

As adenocancer is determined with prostate biopsy, the disease is graded according to its aggressiveness. Gleason score is the most widely used classification method. Based on the deformation of the tissue and cells induced by cancer cells, the specimens are graded between 1-5 (1 best, 5 poorest). The entire cancer material is analyzed and the cellular density is evaluated. The scores of the groups demonstrating the highest densities are combined to form the Gleason score. Based on those gradings, the condition of the tumor inside the prostate is assessed which enables assignment of the most appropriate treatment method.

5. Other Prostate Cancer Types

The prostate cancer types other than adenocarcinoma are uncommon. They demonstrate a poorer prognosis compared with the prostate adenocancer.

Grading

T1: Whether the tumor localized in the prostate is not palpable or it is localized within the interior portions of the prostate. Therefore, it can not be detected by rectal examination. Diagnosis can be established by biopsy taken due to high PSA level or during the TURP operation performed to relieve the urinary obstruction.

T2: Tumor demonstrates an enlargement which can be palpated by fingers but it is still limited to the inside of the prostate.

T3: Tumor spreads beyond the boundaries of the prostate and reaches seminal vesicles.

T4: Metastatic stage. Tumor metastases to surrounding tissues or to distant organs such as bone, lung, and liver.

Treatment of Prostate Cancer

  1. Treatment of localized prostate cancer
    • Follow-up
    • Surgical treatments: radical prostatectomy
      • Open
      • Laparoscopic
      • Robotic prostatectomy
    • Radiotherapy
      • External radiotherapy
        • IMRT
        • Brachytherapy
    • Cryotherapy
    • HIFU
  2. Treatment of Metastatic Disease
    • Hormon therapy
    • Chemotherapy