سرطان الكلية

تعتبر حصيات الكلية من احد اهم امراض الجهاز البولي شيوعاً, و قد لوحظ وجود زيادة في حالات الاصابة بها خلال السنوات الاخيرة و يمكن ان نعزو هذه الزيادة الى التغير في العادات الغذائية و قلة تناول السوائل.

كيف تتكون حصيات الكلية؟

تعمل الكليتان كمصفاة للجسم اذ تقومان بتنقية الدم من المواد الغير مرغوب بها و تفرزها مع البول. عند زيادة تركيز البول تزداد احتمالات تكوين الحصيات في الكلية, اذ ان الاملاح و المعادن الموجودة في البول تتراكم مع بعضها مشكلة بلورات في الوحدات الأنبوبية للسطح الداخلي للكلية, مع الوقت قد تتوحد هذه البلورات مع بعضها و تتحول الى حصاة.

تتكون الحصيات في الكلية اما كنتيجة لوجود تراكيز عالية من املاح الكالسيوم او الاوكسالات او حامض اليوريك في البول او لنقص في مستويات السيترات ( و التي تقلل من التصاق البلورات) في البول و قلة تناول السوائل. يمكن تشبيه هذه العملية بتحول جزيئة الرمل الى اللؤلؤة, و قد يتراوح حجم الحصاة من مقدار حبة الرز الى حجم البرتقالة.

ما هي الشكاوى التي تصاحب حصيات الكلية؟

معظم حصيات الكلية لا تحدث اية اعراض و يتم اكتشافها بصورة عرضية عند اجراء الفحوص الشعاعية لاغراض اخرى. عندما تتحرك الحصاة و تسبب انسدادا في فتحة حوض الكلية قد يؤدي ذلك الى حوث الم في الخاصرة, و عندما تنزل الحصاة الى الحالب تتسبب بالم شديد ينشأ من الخاصرة و ينتشر باتجاه الفخذين يدعى المغص الكلوي و الذي قد تصاحبه اعراض مثل الغثيان و التقيؤ او انتفاخ البطن. قد يحدث تبول دموي نتيجة لتخريش الجهاز البولي بواسطة الحصاة.

كيف يتم تشخيص حصيات الكلية؟

يتم تشخيص الكثير من حصيات الكلى بشكل عرضي, و خصوصا بعد ادراج تخطيط الصدى في برامج المتابعة الصحية الدورية فان عدد حصيات الكلى التي تم تشخيصها قبل أن تسبب أي أعراض ، آخذ في الارتفاع. من ناحية أخرى فان الأعراض الرئيسية التي تجلب المرضى إلى المستشفى تتضمن آلام أسفل الظهر والتهابات المسالك البولية المتكررة ، والتبول الدموي. و يمكن تشخيص المرضى الذين يعانون من تلك الأعراض من خلال اجراء الفحوصات التالية.

• فحص الجهاز البولي بالاشعة السينية المباشرة (DUSR): يمكن الكشف عن معظم حصى الكلى الظليلة للاشعة. لا يمكن اكتشاف الحصيات الغير الظليلة أو الصغيرة بواسطة هذه التقنية.

• تخطيط الصدى (USG): يتم استخدام موجات صوتية عالية التردد لرؤية الأعضاء الداخلية و عرض البيانات على شاشة الكمبيوتر. في حين أن تخطيط الصدى يعتبر طريقة آمنة نسبيا نظرا لعدم وجود التعرض للأشعة السينية ، فقد تبين انها قد تكون غير فعالة وخاصة في الكشف عن الحصيات الصغيرة في الحالب.

• التصوير الحويضي الوريدي (IVP): ويمكن بواسطته الحصول على معلومات مفصلة عن تموضع الحصيات في الكلية والضرر الذي قد تكون الحقته بها. لا يجوز اجراء هذا الفحص على النساء الحوامل أو للاشخاص الذين يعانون من الفشل الكلوي اوالتحسس من دواء التباين.

• التصوير اللولبي المقطعي (Spiral CT): في الوقت الراهن تعتبر هذه التقنية المعيار الذهبي لتقييم حصيات الكلى. اذ يمكن إجراء الفحص في غضون دقائق ، ويمكن من الكشف عن الحصيات الصغيرة جدا حتى.

هل يجب اجراء اي فحوصات اخرى للمرضى الذين تم تشخيص حصيات الكلى لديهم؟

تشير الدراسات إلى أن تشكيل الحصيات يتكرر في 50 ٪ من الحالات في فترة 5 سنوات اذا لم يتم اتخاذ اي تدابير وقائية ضد تشكيل الحصيات. من أجل منع هذا ، فانه ينبغي اتخاذ تدابير وقائية معينة لدى المرضى الذين يتكرر تشكيل الحصيات لديهم أو يظهرون وجود استعداد لذلك،. من أجل تحديد هذه التدابير يتوجب اجراء تحليل يسمى بتقييم التمثيل الغذائي (metabolic analysis) اذ يتم جمع عينات البول لمدة 24 ساعة ويتم قياس مستويات الكالسيوم وحمض اليوريك ، والسترات ، والأوكسالات فيها و في نفس الوقت يتم جمع عينات من الدم لقياس مستويات الكالسيوم والفوسفات و الهرمون الدريقي فيها.

ما هي العوامل التي ترفع من خطر تكوين حصوات الكلى؟

هذه العوامل تتضمن على التوالي :

• نقص السوائل في الجسم : عدم تناول السوائل الكافية وبخاصة المياه يزيد من تركيز المعادن في البول مما يؤدي إلى ارتفاع خطورة تشكيل الحصيات. لذلك فان الاشخاص الذين يعيشون في المناخ الحار أو الذين يعملون في بيئات حارة يكونون تحت خطر أكبر لتشكيل الحصيات.

• تاريخ العائلة والتاريخ الشخصي: خطر تشكيل الحصيات هو أعلى بالنسبة للاشخاص الذين لديهم تاريخ عائلي لتكوين الحصيات و كذلك فإن الشخص الذي عانى من تشكيل حصات في الكلية يظهر قابلية بنسبة 50-60 ٪ لإعادة تشكيل الحصيات خلال فترة 5 سنوات

• السن والجنس والعرق : حصيات الكلى تكون اكثر شيوعا بين عمر 30 الى 50 سنة كما انها تكون اكثر شيوعا لدى البيض والذكور.

• بعض الأمراض المعينة: بعض الأمراض النادرة مثل الحماض الأنبوبي الكلوي و النقرس تزيد من خطورة تشكيل الحصيات.

• النظام الغذائي: الحمية التي تحتوي على نسب عالية من البروتينات الحيوانية ونسب منخفضة من الألياف تزيد من مخاطر تشكيل الحصيات. علاوة على ذلك ، يرتبط الاستهلاك المفرط للملح مع تشكيل الحصيات.

• القصور الذاتي أو قلة الحركة: يعانى المرضى طريحوا الفراش والمرضى الذين يعانون من انخفاض النشاط من داء ترقق العظام مما يؤدي الى ارتفاع مستويات الكالسيوم في البول وبالتالي يعرض المريض لخطورة عالية لتشكيل الحصيات.

هل يجب علاج حصيات الكلى؟

يجب ان يتم علاج الحصيات المتموضعة في حوض الكلية و الا فانها قد تؤدي الى حدوث التهابات في المجاري البولية او قصور كلوي.

اما الحصيات الصغيرة الموجودة في الكؤوس الكلوية قد تكون كامنة لا تؤدي إلى مشكلة، ولكن يمكن أن تنمو هذه الحصيات أو تنزل إلى الحالب و تسبب الشكاوى مثل الألم أو الالتهاب. لذا ، يجب معالجة حصيات الكؤوس الكلوي ايضا.

كيف يمكن علاج حصيات الكلى؟

العلاج الطبي

مكن معالجة الحصيات التي يقل قطرها عن 5 ملم بواسطة استهلاك كميات كبيرة من السوائل و الادوية. تقل احتمالية نزول الحصيات الاكبر.

تَفْتيتُ الحَصاةِ بمَوجاتٍ صادِمَةٍ مِنْ خارِجِ الجِسْم (ESWL)

هذا هو الأسلوب هو الأكثر تطبيقا في علاج حصيات الكلى, اذ يتم توجيه موجة صادمة ولدت خارج الجسم على الحصى من اجل تفتيتها الى قطع صغيرة و التي يتم تمريرها لاحقا مع البول. و قد يتطلب الحد من الألم أثناء هذا الإجراء استخدام الادوية المهدئة أو تخديرا خفيفا. قد يستغرق طرد الحصيات بعد هذا الاجراء أياما أو حتى أسابيع. قد يشعر المريض بألم اوقد يعاني من التهاب المسالك البولية. في بعض الحالت النادرة ، قد تتراكم الرمال في الحالب مما يؤخر طرد الحصيات الأمر الذي قد يتطلب معالجة إضافية.

استخراج حصيات الكلى بطريق الجلد (Percutaneous Nephrolithotripsy)

هذا واحد من الأساليب التي يتم تطبيقها لمعالجة حصيات الكلى في حال فشل جهاز الموجات الصادمة ESWL في تفتيتها او اذا كان حجمها اكثر من 2 سم. يتم هذا الاجراء تحت التخدير العام اذ يتم الوصول إلى الكلية من خلال شق في الجلد بحجم 1 سم و يتم ازالة الحصاة عبر نفس الطريق كاملة او بعد تفتيها الى أجزاء بواسطة جهاز الليزر او الامواج الفوق الصوتية , بعد العملية يتم وضع انبوب لتفريغ الكلية لمنع تجمع البول تحت الجلد و الذي يتم ازالته بعد يومين الى خمسة ايام.

تنظير الحالب (Ureteroscope)

في حالة فشل طرد الحصاة من الحالب أو فشل جهاز الموجات الصادمة ESWL في تفتيتها يمكن معالجة المريض عن طريق إدخال أداة تسمى منظار الحالب ( ureteroscope) عبر الاحليل و المثانة الى الحالب و بعدها يتم تفتيت الحصاة بواسطة الليزر او او طرق اخرى و يمكن تخريج المريض من المستشفى في نفس اليوم او بعد يوم واحد من هذا الاجراء.

كيف يمكن منع تشكيل حصيات الكلى؟

يمكن الحد من خطر تشكيل الحصيات من خلال احداث بعض التغييرات في نمط الحياة والتغذية. وقد تبين أن النظام الغذائي الذي يتضمن قيودا صارمة يمكن ان يكون غير فعالا نظرا لصعوبة التزام المريض به. يجب تشجيع المرضى على تناول كميات كبيرة من السوائل و قد اثبتت هذه التوصية نجاعتها في منع تشكيل الحصيات بغض النظر عن تكوين السوائل، اذ يجب ان يكون معدل تكوين البول للشخص البالغ فوق 2 ليتريوميا. وينبغي توزيع تناول السوائل بالتساوي على مدار اليوم ، وينبغي إيلاء اهتمام خاص في حالة فقدان السوائل من الجسم.

هناك حاجة لبرنامج غذائي متوازن ومختلط. ينبغي تشجيع تناول الأطعمة الغنية بالالياف واستهلاك الخضروات الفاكهة. ومع ذلك ، ينبغي تجنب الخضروات و الفواكه الغنية بالأوكسالات (السبانخ ،الكاكاو, أوراق الشاي ، الجوز، والنخالة) و هذا مهم خصوصا للمرضى الذين يظهرون مستوى عال من الأوكسالات في البول.

يمكن تناول 4 غم من فيتامين C يوميا دون رفع خطورة تشكيل حصيات الكلى. يجب الابتعاد عن استهلاك البروتينات الحيوانية بشكل مفرط (ينبغي أن يقتصر استهلاك البروتين الحيواني على 150 غم يوميا فقط). ومن المفضل أن يقتصر تناول الكالسيوم على الكميات الموصى بتناولها يوميا فقط (حوالي 800 الى 1000 ملغم يوميا) الا في بعض الحالات الخاصة التي تستدعي غير ذلك.

يفضل تقليل استهلاك الاغذية الغنية باليورات (الكبد، الكلى، جلد الدواجن، وجلد أسماك الرنكة والسردين والأنشوفة) عند المرضى الذين يعانون من حصيات من نوع اوكسالات الكالسيوم و نوع حمض اليوريك. وينبغي أن لا تتجاوز كمية اليورات التي يتم تناولها 500 ملغم يوميا.

يمكن تلخيص النظام الغذائي المبسط المتبع حاليا لمنع تشكيل حصيات الكلى بالنقاط التالية.

  1. تناول كميات كافية من السوائل.
    1. ينبغي تناول كمية السوائل تكون كافية لإنتاج كمية 2 ليتر يوميا من البول (حوالي 3 ليتر يوميا). و اذا اخذنا بالاعتبار ان كل كوب من الماء يحوي حوالي 200 مل من الماء ينبغي للشخص أن يشرب حوالي 15 كوب من الماء يوميا.
    2. ينبغي استبعاد والشاي والحليب في حساب كمية السوائل المفترض تناولها، و يجب أن يشكل الماء نصف كمية السوائل الواجب تناولها يوميا (حوالي 8 اكواب) ويجب أن تكون موزعة بالتساوي على مدار اليوم, كذلك ينصح بتناول عصائر الفاكهة مع الماء.
    3. هنالك نقطة أخرى مهمة في الحفاظ على توازن السوائل في الجسم وهي الحفاظ على مستوى السوائل متوازنا في ساعات النوم (البول يكون أكثر تركيزا اثناء ساعات النوم نتيجة لعدم وجود السوائل في الجسم) لذا ينبغي زيادة حجم تناول السوائل في ساعات النوم.
  2. يفضل التقليل من تناول ملح الطعام و الاطعمة المالحة.
  3. ينبغي التقليل من تناول الاطعمة الغنية بالبروتينات الحيوانية مثل اللحوم و منتوجاتها و الحليب و مشتقاته و البيض. يجب ان يقتصر تناولها على وجبة واحدة يوميا ان امكن.
  4. ينبغي عدم تناول الاغذية الغنية بالكالسيوم بشكل مفرط كما يجب ملاحظة ان هذه الاطعمة تكون غنية بالبروتين ايضا.

KIDNEY STONE

Urinary tract stone disease is the most common problem of excretion system after urinary tract inflammations and prostate diseases. An increase has been reported in the incidence of kidney stones during the past 20-30 years. While the obvious reason behind this elevation is not known, it is attributed to changes in dietary habits and lesser fluid intake.

How does a kidney stone form?

Kidneys work as the filter system of our body. Blood is always filtrated in the kidneys whereas beneficial substances are absorbed and unwanted substances are excreted with urine. Presence of a urine with high-concentration, elevates the risk for formation of kidney stone. Salts and minerals excreted with the concentrated urine, generate accumulations which later turn to stones in the tubular units localized in the inner surface of the kidneys. In time, those crystals come together and form a stone.

Kidney stone disease (nephrolithiasis) occurs as a result of high level of calcium (hypercalciuria), oxalate (hyperoxaluria) or uric acid (hyperuricosuria) and due to low citrate levels which reduce the adhesion of crystals, and inadequate fluid intake. This process may be considered similar to the transformation of a single sand grain into a pearl in time. The size of the stones may vary from a little rice grain to a mandarin.

What are the complaints associated with kidney stones?

Majority of the kidney stones do not display any signs and are detected during radiological examinations performed for other purposes. If the stone has a large size and obstructs renal pelvis, then it may cause pain. As the stone moves into the duct between bladder and kidney, it may completely obstruct urine flow and lead to a severe pain termed as colic. The pain originates from waist level and spreads through the thighs along with possible additional symptoms such as nausea, vomiting, or abdominal distension. Hematuria may be present due to irritation of the urinary tract because of the stone.

How is kidney stone diagnosed?

Some kidney stones are diagnosed accidentally. By inclusion of USG in check-up programs, currently the number of kidney stones diagnosed before causing any symptoms, is on the rise. On the other hand, major symptoms that bring patients to physicians are known to be low back pain, recurrent urinary tract inflammation, and hematuria. Patients presenting with those symptoms can be diagnosed by application of the following examinations.

• Direct Urinary System Radiography (DUSR): By using x-ray, most of the opaque kidney stones can be detected. Non-opaque or small stones can not be determined with this technique.

• USG: High-frequency sound waves are utilized for visualization of the internal organs and the data are reflected on a display by the help of a computer. While it seems to be a safe method due to absence of x-rays, it proves to be inefficient particularly in detection of small stones in the ureters.

• Intravenous Pyelography (IVP): Both anatomy and function of kidneys can be examined by intravenous delivery of a contrast agent. Detailed information on localization of the stones in the kidney and the damage they inflicted can be obtained. This technique should not be performed on people who are pregnant or suffer from renal failure and allergy against the contrast agent.

• Spiral Computed Tomography (CT): Currently, thin section urinary CT has become the gold standard for assessment of kidney stones. The assessment can be performed within minutes and even milimetric stones can be detected.

Should other analyses be applied on patients diagnosed with kidney stone?

Studies show that recurrent stone formation is observed in 50% of cases in a 5-year period where no preventive measures are taken against stone formation. In order to prevent this, among patients who display recurrent stone formation or demonstrate a predisposition, certain preventive measures should be taken. In order to perform this analysis which is called metabolic assessment, 24-hour urine samples are collected and calcium, uric acid, citrate, and oxalate levels are measured. By collecting a blood sample at the same time; blood calcium, inorganic phosphate and parathormon levels are determined, as well.

What are the factors that elevate the risk of kidney stone formation?

If we are to list those respectively:

• Inadequate fluid intake: Failure to intake adequate fluid, particularly water, the concentration of minerals leading to stone formation rise. Therefore, people living in hot climates or working in hot environments are under greater risk for stone formation.

• Family history and personal history: The risk of stone formation is higher for people whose families have a stone history. Also, a person who had experienced stone formation once in kidney, has a 50-60% risk to redevelop it in the following 5-year period.

• Age, gender and race: Kidney stone is commonly encountered between the ages of 30-50 range. It is more frequently seen in males and white people.

• Certain diseases: Rare diseases such as renal tubular acidosis, goutte and cystinuria increase the risk for stone formation.

• Diet: Diets containing high animal proteins and low fiber content elevate the risk for stone formation. Moreover, excessive salt consumption has been associated with stone formation, as well.

• Inertia or low activity: Bedridden patients and patients who display low activity may suffer osteoporosis which leads to elevation of calcium levels in the urine and therefore puts the patient under high risk for stone formation.

Should kidney stones be treated?

Stones localized in the renal pelvis should be treated. Otherwise, they can cause dysfunction or inflammation in the kidney.

Generally, stones in the calyces of kidney display a latent course and does not lead to a problem. But caliceal stones can grow in situ or move into the ureter and cause complaints such as pain or inflammation. Therefore, caliceal stones should be treated.

How does the kidney stones treated?

Medical Treatment

Stones with less than 5mm diameter can be treated with plenty of water consumption and drug therapy. The possibility of passing out larger stones is very low.

ESWL (Extracorporeal Shockwave Lithotripsy)

This is the most common method applied in treatment of kidney stones. Shockwaves generated outside the body are directed onto the stones to fragmentate them. Then, those pieces are passed out in the urine. In order to reduce the pain during procedure, sedative drug or a mild anesthesia may be required. Expelling of stones following ESWL may take days or even weeks. Patients may feel pain and develop urinary tract inflammation. Although rare, sands may accumulate in the ureter and the expelling may be delayed which requires an additional treatment.

Percutaneous Nephrolithotripsy (PNL)

This is one of the current methods which is applied when ESWL fails to fragmentate the stone or have a size above 2cm. By reaching the kidney through a 1cm incision from the lumbar region under general anesthesia, stones are removed via the same route as a whole or in fragments. During percutaneous nephrolithotripsy, an endoscopic i.e. closed operation, images are transferred to a display screen by an endocamera. Stones are fragmentated mostly with pneumatic, ultrasonic or laser devices. At the end of the operation, a nephrostomy tube is temporarily placed into the kidney in order to void the urine for the following 2-5 days.

Ureteroscopy

In case expelling stones from the ureter or breaking them up with ESWL fails, those patients can be treated by insertion of an instrument called ureteroscope. Ureteroscopes are of 2.5-3 mm diameter and have a tube allowing to perform various procedures and a lense system. Rigid (inflexible) ureteroscopes are inserted through urethra and bladder into the ureter and treatment is applied by fragmentating stones with Holmium laser or pneumatic lithotriptor. Stones in the lower and midureter can be treated with ureteroscopes. Flexible ureteroscopes are employed in treatment of stones localized in the upper ureter or renal pelvis and calyces due to their ability to be rotated in different directions at different angles. Patients can be discharged overnight or 1 day after the ureteroscopic stone treatment.

Can the formation of kidney stone be prevented?

By making few changes in the nutrition and life style, the risk of stone formation can be reduced. Earlier diets including strict limitations have been shown to be ineffective due to difficulty to follow. Patients should be encouraged to take high volumes of fluid. This is a valid recommendation against urinary tract stones regardless of the composition of the fluid. The daily urinary volume of an adult person should be above 2 liters. Fluid intake should be distributed throughout the day evenly and particular attention should be paid in case of fluid loss.

A mixed and balanced dietary program is needed in all patients. Fibrous foods and vegetable-fruit consumption should be encouraged. However, vegetables-fruits that are rich of oxalate (spinach, cacao, tea leaves, walnut, and bran) should be avoided. This is important especially for patients who exhibit high level of oxalate in their urine.

C vitamin may be taken 4g/day without elevating the risk for stone formation. Animal proteins should not be consumed excessively. Animal protein consumption should be limited to 150g/day. Calcium intake should be limited unless there is a reasonable cause. Required daily calcium consumption is 800mg and generally 1000mg is recommended. Calcium supplement is recommended only if there is enteric hypocalcuria.

In hyperuricosuric calcium oxalate stone disease, and among patients with uric acid stone, consumption of foods rich of urate (liver, kidney, skin of poultry animals, skin of herring fish, sardine, and anchovy) should be limited. Urate amount per diet should not exceed 500mg/day.

Currently used Diet for Prevention of Stone Formation is simplified and summarized below.

  1. Adequate fluid intake should be maintained.
    1. Fluid intake should be enough (e.g: 3 liters/day) to produce a daily urine output of 2 liters. Considering that one glass of water is comprised of 200cc., we should drink about 15 glasses of water.
    2. Tea and milk should be excluded in calculation of total fluid intake whereas at least half (8 glasses) of the whole fluid intake has to be water and should be distributed evenly throughout the day. Fruit juices are recommended alongside water.
    3. Another important point on maintaining a fluid balance is to keep the fluid level balanced in the sleep hours during which urine gets more concentrated due to absence of fluid intake. Therefore, the fluid intake volume should be elevated by considering the sleep hours.
  2. Less salty foods should be preferred.
  3. Excessive consumption of foods that are rich of animal proteins (meat and meat products, milk and dairy products, egg etc..) should not be consumed. If possible, limit consumption of those foods to only 1 meal.
  4. Calcium-rich foods should not be consumed excessively. Moreover, one should be aware that calcium-rich foods are generally rich of animal proteins, as well.